Dr. KC serious analysis of what happens to the Oli government in the collective resignation of the Nepali parliamentarians

Senior CPN-UML leaders Jhala Nath Khanal and 22 lawmakers from the Madhav Kumar Nepal faction are preparing to resign en masse. According to a source, the group of 22 directly elected parliamentarians is also preparing for the collective resignation.

The Khanal-Nepal faction has given a last chance to Prime Minister KP Oli, saying that he has gone ahead alone in the party by violating the rules. The Khanal-Nepal group is preparing to submit its collective resignation by evening if Oli does not show flexibility till today.

Leader Yuvraj Gyawali informed that a discussion would be held among the standing committee members through virtual medium before submitting his resignation. Leader Jhapat Rawal said that a meeting of the Khanal-Nepal group of parliamentarians held at a house in Tripureshwor on Saturday night had decided to adopt maximum flexibility to unite the party.

The group’s strategy is to mobilize the top leadership, including senior leader Nepal, to preserve the party’s unity and, if it fails to do so, to resign en masse to thwart Oli’s vote of confidence. Oli is taking a vote of confidence in parliament on Monday.

The controversy that started when Savik’s CPN (Maoist) could not be managed by the party had reached a stalemate after Oli dissolved the House of Representatives on January 19. The Khanal-Nepal faction, which had been fighting against Oli in a faction including Prachanda for the next two months, is also fighting in the UML after the UML and the UCPN (M) were ousted from the Center on March 8.

UML is on the verge of split after Oli nominated 23 people including Ram Bahadur Thapa Badal, Lekhraj Bhatt and Top Bahadur Rayamajhi to the central committee and snatched the responsibility of leaders of the Khanal-Nepal group.
The Khanal-Nepal group is of the view that the decision of March 10 should be implemented. But Oli has been taking a stand that the decision cannot be corrected.

These MPs can resign if they have to resign

  1. Jhalanath Khanal, Ilam 1
  2. Madhav Kumar Nepal, Kathmandu 2
  3. Yogesh Bhattarai, Taplejung
  4. Jayakumar Rai, Sunsari 1
  5. Bhavani Khapung, Tehrathum
  6. Yagya Raj Sunuwar, Okhaldhunga
  7. Ganesh Pahadi, Sindhuli 1
  8. Holy Niraula Kharel, Jhapa 2
  9. Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Kathmandu 8
  10. Narayan Khatiwada, Nuwakot 1
  11. Protest Khatiwada, Makwanpur 2
  12. Surendra Pandey, Chitwan 1
  13. Ghanshyam Bhusal, Rupandehi 3
  14. Gokarna Bista, Gulmi 1
  15. Metmani Chaudhary, Dang 1
  16. Hirachandra KC, Dang 3
  17. Deepak Prakash Bhatt, Kanchanpur 3
  18. Rajvahadur Budha, Dailekh 2
  19. Jhapat Rawal, Kailali 2
  20. Bhim Rawal, Achham 1
  21. Krishnalal Maharjan, Lalitpur 2
  22. Som Prasad Pandey, Palpa 2

Apart from Raj Bahadur Budha and Gokarna Bisht, Chairman Oli had earlier asked 20 MPs for clarification. Proportional MPs from the Khanal-Nepal group have said that they will resign if they have to resign.

It’s like a collective anti-Oli spirit. That is why we are ready to resign, ”said a proportional lawmaker from the group.
Proportional MPs from Khanal-Nepal group:

  1. Ramkumari Jhankri, Gulmi
  2. Binadevi Budhathoki Magar, Kanchanpur
  3. Mukunda Neupane, Kathmandu
  4. Kalyani Kumari Khadka, Rautahat
  5. Laxmikumari Chaudhary, Kailali
  6. Ganga Chaudhary Satgauwa, Dang
  7. Niradevi Jairu, Dadeldhura
  8. Samina Hussain, Rautahat
  9. Pushpakumari Karna Yadav, Parsa
  10. Sarlakumari Yadav, Rautahat
  11. Kalila Khan, Tanahu

Leave a Reply