Kathmandu Metropolitan City (KMC) has started counting votes. On Friday night, an all-party meeting resolved to start counting ballots at 8 a.m. today.

However, voting began at 10 a.m. in the National Assembly Hall in Bhrikutimandap, Kathmandu. The counting began with ward number 1, and will continue with ward number 32 and others.

Keshav Sthapit of the UML, Sirjana Singh of the Nepali Congress, Balendra Shah (independent candidate), and Samiksha Baskota of Bibeksheel Sajha are among the 56 mayoral candidates in Kathmandu Metropolitan City.

“We have information that wired fences are present at practically all counting centers to maintain security during the vote count, despite the fact that the commission has not issued any such direction,” Tulasi Shrestha, a joint secretary at the commission, told the Post. “It’s possible that the returning cops and security services chose to put up barriers.”\

Wire barriers have been erected not just in rural and isolated places, but even at the Rastriya Sabha Griha in the capital, where the Kathmandu Metropolitan City’s votes will be counted.

The walls have been constructed, according to Raju Khatiwada, chief returning officer in Kathmandu, so that counting may be done without disruption.

“When dealing with delicate matters, it is always best to take safeguards,” he told the Post.

Now that the municipal elections have concluded, all eyes are on the results. Authorities have endeavored to make the counting centers as safe as possible, using everything from wire fencing to CCTV cameras, reportedly in response to the Bharatpur counting catastrophe in 2017.



Leave a Reply