With the resignation of 20 ministers, the UML will now have a single government

Following the Supreme Court order, a single UML government led by KP Oli has been formed. Mahanta Thakur’s faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), which had joined the current government after splitting the party, has left the government within 19 days.

He had joined the Jaspa government on May 6 under the leadership of parliamentary party leader Rajendra Mahato. Along with the Supreme Court’s order, Deputy Prime Minister and Urban Development Minister Mahato and eight other ministers and two ministers of state have resigned. All the four ministers in the cabinet are from UML.

The five-member cabinet, including the prime minister, will now remain in place until the next election. Following the Supreme Court’s order, the Council of Ministers cannot be run by the Prime Minister.

The government had dissolved the House of Representatives and announced mid-term elections on November 11 and 12. However, the issue against the dissolution of parliament and the mid-term elections is under consideration at the apex court.

CPN-UML spokesperson Pradip Gyawali said that the interim order issued by the Supreme Court would push towards political complications. He said the court’s decision was unexpected.

Leave a Reply